News Detail


Commission launches first New European Bauhaus competition

The European Commission has launched the first competition call looking for project examples showcasing the values of the New European Bauhaus.
The projects are expected to reflect the principles of the New Bauhaus – sustainability, aesthetics, and inclusion – across 10 categories, as exhibited below.

There are two parallel competitions. One for existing demonstrations of the new Bauhaus, with a prize fund of €30,000 in each of the 10 categories. The second competition seeks new concepts and ideas from people under 30, with 10 prizes of €15,000 set aside for the winners. The deadline to submit applications is 31 May.

The Commission is currently working on shaping the concept of the New European Bauhaus. The prizes should serve to exemplify the core pillars of the initiative, inspiring its further development planned in a next launch of call for proposals for five projects this autumn.

The 10 categories are:

  • Techniques, materials and processes for construction and design
  • Building in a spirit of circularity
  • Solutions for the co-evolution of built environment and nature
  • Regenerated urban and rural spaces
  • Products and life style
  • Preserved and transformed cultural heritage
  • Reinvented places to meet and share
  • Mobilisation of culture, arts and communities
  • Modular, adaptable and mobile living solutions
  • Interdisciplinary education models

More information on the EC website here.
Access the New European Bauhaus Prizes 2021 online submission platform here.

Source: European Commission @ European Union 1995-2021